Minimizing While Paying it Forward.

April 2, 2010 at 4:04 pm (Uncategorized)

A friend of mine recently joined a FB group called Pay it Forward. I think it is a great idea, in fact I live my life daily by this principle. So it occured to me that when we keep our useful but not used belongings we are not allowing them the full play which should be their destiny. Things were created to be used hence the term consumer.

Now as I scour through my remaining belongings I think of who might really enjoy this versus my squirreling it away for another day in my closet or drawer. I am especially guilty of not going through all the clothes. My shoes and clothes are very personal as for some years I was overweight (hoarding calories) and could not wear beautiful frilly or sexy clothes. So for the past five years I have been reasonably fit and enjoy wearing clothes again. The problem is I still only wear 20% of my wardrobe 80% of the time. I won’t wear some of my prettiest clothes beacuse I don’t want to wreck them, but isn’t that silly? Instead I often wear my jeans and a grey tee-shirt. This is my working outfit, but it too often becomes my all day outfit and it isn’t very attractive.

So now I’m making an effort to wear my way through my closet to see what fits, what still looks good and the rest is paid forward to the next lucky recipient! My friends seem to like the plan and strangely every time I give away things which had been tough to give away in the past, magically stuff I need shows up.

So I’m off to help a friend who is Ebaying off her and her man’s excess in order to travel more and enjoy their home space more. They have many beautiful dust-ables occupying space. Wish me bon chance!

Leave a Reply

