Reply I left over at Miss Minimalist

April 3, 2010 at 12:58 pm (Uncategorized)

  • Ellen Scott Grable
    March 31st, 2010 at 7:09 am · Reply

    Consider the thought of simplyfing your finances…I don’t mean one bank account, one credit card. That’s obvious.

    In the could you, would you walk away sort. I saved enough money to divorce amicably without any debt, send myself to get a BS (that it is) degree in business, support myself and my teenage son alone and do a study abroad in the south of France. All on a very modest income.

    I have enjoyed an amazing time these past five years.

    This past year I lost all my money and am in debt for the first time in twelve years. Here’s where it gets interesting, I’m no different in my thinking about money as a tool to be levereged to suit our lives and nothing more nothing less.

    I still spent a month and a half visiting my family in New Orleans just enjoying my time. I’ll admit that because of current budgetary restraints I took the Sunset Ltd back to California with a coach seat. I voluntarily slept in my sweats in the lounge car along with two other women and the train marshall. I may not have had a room, a proper bed or a private toilet for two days, but I had the adventure of a lifetime. I met some wonderful people!

    Money is like water…we need it, but we don’t need to stockpile it, we need to seek out freshwater streams and our needs will be met. Could you walk away from your savings and still absolutely know you will be alright?

  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

