Another Reason to Clear the Clutter

May 28, 2012 at 10:48 pm (Letting go, LoVe, Sailing, simple frugality) (, , , , )

So as I window er marina shop for a sailboat I am understanding why I have come so far in downscaling my possessions. I need to be able to organize and pack for bareboating efficiently and easily. I also know that the boat will come with many surprise expenses and must be careful not to get caught up in the latest gadgets for my boat!

So today instead of hitting the beach or sailing I am gleaning through my possessions for an upcoming Craigslist and Ebay session. The proceeds to go into my sailing certification fund.

I know this will sound funny to some people reading this but, the fact is the less I own and the more I consider what I own the easier it is to be generous, spontaneous and understanding of the challenges of the many who have so much less than I do. I have a roof, food (with the chubby rolls to prove it) transportation, an education and my health. I wake up each day to these and know that the challenges I face each day are unlikely to be in these categories. I eat simply and mindfully for health and energy and pay attention to the messages my body has for me such as get more sleep, or be mindful of eating only when hungry and to keep fit.

Sailing has a profound way of keeping you in the moment every moment. Thinking about something else is hazardous when sailing and subtracts from the pure enjoyment that is sailing which should be revered.

So I leave you with this thought…what would you take up if you had the money and the time? Maybe you can already if you move towards that goal instead of waiting for some ethereal tomorrow where all your bills are paid and you have plenty of time. Today is the day to start living the life you dream of…

Leave a Reply

