Things I learned about Myself over the Summer

September 10, 2012 at 1:34 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )

ImageThis summer began early for me as I was learning to sail from Spring on…every beautiful day was a call to the water. I quickly realized that I was able to quiet the many voices competing for space in my head while I was busy tacking, trimming sails and avoiding wandering kayakers in my path. The hours spent on the water were equal to days of vacation in allowing me to see things from a more relaxed point of view.

When we faced a challenge on the water we were up to it and conquered our self doubts and fears. When you or your craft is in danger you must make a decision early and confidently. Hesitation leads to disaster. Learning to trust your own ability is key to becoming a good sailor. Ability comes from proper training, reading the laws and functions of your craft and practice, practice, practice. 

The funny part is all I really wanted to do was learn to sail for pleasure but, it has become so much more. It has literally changed my life for the better. The self confidence and sense of accomplishment have been key in my making decisions in my personal and business life. I could never have seen the far reaching consequences of a weekend course in sailing. Many friends ask me what kind of boat do I want or have  bought one yet? I have no idea what type of sailboat I want as I am still trying them on for size and speed and use. Maybe I won’t buy one at all but, just rent whatever type I’m feeling like each time?

I learned that “taken aback” was what happened to us near the bridge and it is a nautical term. I have learned how to prevent that in the future. I have also learned how to stall a sailboat in high winds for safety.

All this has helped me get my bearings in jewelry and know what distance goal I will set my sights on for the next year. I learned that most women who are on sailboats aren’t sailors but rather passengers and being able to crew adds to my value when invited out on a boat.

I learned my friendship is strong enough to bark orders when important and they will be respected as I respect another skipper barking orders to me.

All in all it has been a very good summer.

Leave a Reply

