Fashion as Revolution

November 19, 2012 at 9:22 pm (Art, Freedom, Letting go) (, , , , , , , , , )

Fashion is often dismissed as part of a lifestyle which is offensive to those who toil in sweatshops and cannot afford those very items they create.

I propose a different vision. Fashion is at the basis of our daily communication with our world professionally and personally. By creating and manufacturing, distributing and selling all within a region realigns our economy to our lifestyles and wages. I’m suggesting something as basic as a local sustainable economy reflective of the needs of San Diegans.

The flip side of this coin is developing the top end resale business. A perfect compliment to buying locally manufactured clothes, jewelry, food etc. is the upcycle and reuse of those outside elements already in our midst.  Those Dior pumps from 1992 look amazing with Stacie May’s Gatsby inspired modern take on the Afternoon cocktail dress. The 1960’s Cini of Newport beach California sterling jewelry lavalieres are a divine accessory for so many Southern California moods and events.

Part of my lifestyle is recognizing that I need to add more whole foods and organic into my life as I transition to less meat and more raw fruits and vegetable. I feel so good when I eat macrobiotic, locally grown organic food. I am energized after eating versus wanting to take a nap. One restaurant near me that offers only wholesome choices is Casa De Luz in North Park offering fresh, local organic cuisine. Everything I have tried is so flavorful, clean and fresh I am constantly delighted by their innovative combinations. I am restored to see this as a growing food movement in contradiction to corporate farming and GMO spread as local fashion is to the sweat shops and corporate management of cheap, poorly made fashion.

The argument designed to confuse is that all this localization costs more. It does not as it fits an equilibrium which we must strive for. I don’t need six cheap tops I need versatile quality and I can do that with local made and consignment and thrift stores to find quality vintage finds…often once made in America.

Soyez le change….I am the change in my consumer choices.

Local fashion talent

Paul Rico interprets the little black dress for San Diego’s women.

Leave a Reply

