Today’s Word is Gratitude

November 19, 2012 at 8:42 pm (Letting go, LoVe, Relationships, Sailing, Uncategorized) (, , , , )

In a fast moving techno saturated world I can easily become distracted from the obvious…my health, a beautiful tree or flower and the love of my friends and families. Lest you think I live in harmony I assure I live far from a perfect existence…but then again that isn’t the point is it? The point is to be present for all of it. Less judgement more understanding and pure enjoyment.

I live in a temperate paradise next to the Big Blue Pacific. I am thankful this and everyday for the live giving ocean, the gentle winds and the warm sun on my back and the food in my organic garden. The wind and sea conspire to race me while sailing on a recent afternoon. A friend ask when is sailing season over in San Diego? I replied never. Sailing really gets fun in the winter just like surfing.  

So I am thankful for my beautiful city and the characters it holds including the guy who wasn’t looking and ran his overfull warehouse store cart into traffic and almost into my car…he clearly by his words was not having a an awesome Monday. I am grateful he was able to remind me how fortunate I am in my little corner of the world. I am grateful for my wonderful friends and co creatives at Hera Hub Mission Valley. Without whom I would not be in one of the most productive times in my life. A place to go and be in a wonderful group of supportive entrepreneurs is a gift indeed.

I share a house with my young adult son, two dogs and my elderly parents who sadly often forget their many blessings. I hope they remember to give thanks on Thursday when they dine with my brother for all his help in keeping them safe and independent at home with us. My son is a strong physical and mental presence for us all and I feel fortunate to have him there to help them as well. So you see we have a good thing  that can be awkward, crowded, tense and delightful (all in the same day often) and we have each other and that is the point.

Leave a Reply

