Pomegranate Fever

November 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm (Eating Nature, Freedom, Letting go, LoVe, simple frugality) (, , , , , , , , )

It’s that time of year again and this year is my tree’s 35th year. I planted her accidentally back in November 1978 while eating a pomegranate off a neighbor’s tree. In the spring my dad ask me what the little tree coming up in the bushes was? Huh? Sure enough it was a pomegranate tree. Dad transplanted it to the hillside in our backyard. It is home to many species who share the fruit with me and my human friends.

When they are ripe i find I may gorge on them for days eating little else but pomegranates split wide open and ripe to sweetness. I have even traced poor relationship choices to my pom consumption! They are a natural vaso dilator and loaded with all kinds of health nuturing goodness. I attribute never succumbing to winter ills to my pom intake during the early flu and cold season.

Sorry…I walked away from my post to go in the kitchen and properly seeded the whole thing instead of picking away like hardened corn kernels with delicate flesh. Now I have half a bowl of pure crimson energy, flavor, life giving, pomegranate. Are some of the gals looking at me funny as I quickly work my way through the grapefruit sized pom without so much as a drop of blood red juice lost. I have done this many many times before my friends. I offer my cancer and disease preventors around but mostly people pass on this nectar of the immortals. More for me…

I share my poms freely…there are many other pom eaters like myself who value their mystical healthy properties. Those who know a split wide ripe pomegranate is a blessing and a gift from eternity. She has been featured in a local Home and Garden magazine in the flower of Spring and the full fruit of fall. It has not spoiled her for the attention.  I give thanks for each and every one in each and every harvest. I now have seedling growing from my seeds and a small clone tree of the original. The trees are a responsibility to sow and share as well. ❤

Leave a Reply

