Change Everything…or at Least Question Everything

January 14, 2013 at 8:43 pm (Eating Nature, Freedom, Health, Letting go) (, , , , , , , , , , )

As I begin another calendar year and focus on what I want to achieve going in it occurs to me that I really need to question more of my accepted beliefs.

282981_10151200469048002_1847061650_nThese beliefs are as simple as I think bread needs to be served with a meal down to what I put in my coffee or tea. It is also as complex as why I think a doctor must be consulted for health issues when I already know the answers or at least the question. I’m not saying stop seeing your doctor but, for me it comes down to doing everything in my power to stay healthy get healthier while adapting to a more positive lifestyle.

So when I gave up grains (excepting quinoa) I started asking why when we have so many fresh whole food choices the American table always seems to include gluten loaded GMO wheat bread made with a variety of toxins designed to preserve your bread and shorten your life. I ask why we think certain foods are breakfast foods and others are for lunch or dessert. In the US we think of the entrée as the main course and yet the word which is French means appetizer or first course.

I gave up buying clothes made anywhere except my hometown San Diego unless they are from a clothes swap or local thrift store. My thought process is this that since an item is second or third hand it is okay since it was already transported here for its first incarnation. The thrift buying and swapping has allowed me the budget to buy local designer made clothes. ( https://www.facebook.com/break.themould.9?fref=ts, https://www.facebook.com/staciemayclothing?fref=ts ) I no longer keep clothes in a variety of sizes. They fit or they are sent on the next lucky wearer. When a friend my size comments on how much they love something I am wearing I make a mental note and when it is time to move on I offer it to said friend. I will still enjoy seeing it on someone new.

My personal bath supplies involved sourcing from a local woman who makes all her soaps and I choose the bamboo charcoal soap for my easily irritated skin. Her bath bombs are da’ bomb and come in delightful essential oil scents.  ( https://www.facebook.com/MyLuckyDragon?fref=ts ).

My food is now sourced from a variety of farmer’s markets as well as the grocer and includes much more organic choices. The microwave sits dormant. I don’t buy food in cans and I buy nothing to be microwaved. I enjoy my life too much to succumb to illness and degenerative disease which can be prevented through lifestyle adjustment.

I have given away a large number of books yet again as I realize they are available online, e-book and library. A rare on American History stays in the small keeper collection. The others were joyfully received by the new owners.

I don’t keep a lot of photos and I have had friends and family look at me funny when I tell them it is about living in the present. Our ancestors before camera had to remember people in their hearts. I have given away many and have one shoebox of photos. When the lid won’t close it is time to go through them again.

I threw away multi vitamins and supplements which are bio available in my new living food diet. Too many additives and sugars in them.

I don’t need to own, insure, store and house everything i have ever owned or desired. Often I think that idea which has bubbled into hoarding for some folks comes from wanting a memory of the $ money spent. A reminder or perhaps we think we can cash it out one day and maybe today is that day.

Sometimes in love and stuff it is time to move on…

 

Leave a Reply

