Art and the Way of the Goddess

February 18, 2013 at 8:47 pm (Art, gemstones and Jewels, LoVe, Relationships) (, , , , , , , )

So in spending time inventorying my current offerings in gems and necklaces I am again renewed in my quest for beauty and uniqueness. I am happy with every single piece in my current collections and see myriad reasons to build on each of these varied themes within the vision of conversation I have begun.

Jewelry is an emotional token in a material world of a spiritual meaning. Meaning it carries with it love and faith and friendship and status and culture. Because of its ability to impact not only the wearer, but those who gaze upon it I want me mine to be about starting conversations…about love, about meaning, and the true nature of happiness. I also want it start conversations about the violence with which it is torn from the earth, shaped into something through cutting and polishing and heat, often by an exploited population using toxic methods on the land…and yet there is no denying its beauty so we must rethink how and why we make jewelry…or at least I do.ImageThis is a piece of fire agate matrix retrieved from a dump after the mine lease holder separated their highest grade fire agate rough from the mine yield. Those gems which will retrieve the highest market price will be cut to maximize their beauty and size. I on the other hand am far more interested in the story the stones seek to tell me…Imagejade necklaceThese are vintage American jade which were retrieved from a scratched and chipped antique pen holder for a wealthy man’s desktop. I made them into spikes and pendants.Image© Michael J Walters 2009These opals are from the Shewa area of Ethiopia. They were part of a parcel of samples brought to the US over a decade ago and the finest stones were sold. These had been in a plastic box for years. Some are drilled and were made into pendants on leather.

So you see I really can find a lot of beauty in what has already been deemed second class…it is all relative. I have surprised even those from whom I have bought with the grace and beauty revealed in their castoffs.

So now you know why I do what I do and with what I do it. I can be reached on occasion at ESGJewelryDesigns@gmail.com if you want to know where to purchase my jeweled art.

Leave a Reply

